<Shoah Memorial, Drancy, 2006–2011, Competition 1st prize

X

The Shoah Memorial stands on a corner property in Drancy, a Parisian suburb. Its front, the narrow façade that gives onto the Rue Jean Jaurès, faces the Cité de la Muette. This U-shaped residential estate was erected between 1932 and 1934. It was subsequently repurposed during German occupation from 1941 to 1944 to serve as an internment camp for the Jewish population being deported. In 1976 a memorial by Shlomo Selinger was erected near the street in the park opposite and in 1988 a freight railcar used by the French rail company was added. Today, Cité de la Muette is considered one of the most significant Shoah Memorials in France.

The building, which serves both as a museum and a memorial, is a four-story varnished concrete construction. The building is set back slightly from the street; the bank of windows running the length of the top floor open it up to the Cité de la Muette on the opposite side. The entrance on the first floor consists of an unframed mirror set into the façade at a slight angle. It is designed to reflect the housing estate and the memorial, thereby making the visitor enter the building with the former internment camp in sight. Inside, the visitor enters the building through security gates and reaches the upper floors by way of a closed stairwell. The second and third floors house the documents and archives and provide classrooms for school lessons. The top floor is as a permanent exhibition space. Here, the files, letters, pictures, and films on display describe the conditions that existed in the internment camps. Together, the three floors form a programmatic unit where staff and visitors share the same space: there exists no separation between the public and the administrative sections.

The memorial’s design and, correspondingly, its function is the mediation of the memory of the Shoah. With its vertically integrated levels and its open façade facing the site of history, the building seeks to ensure the lived engagement with this memory. It was conceived as a “mémoire composé,” as a functional unit that ensures memories are continuously being recollected and kept alive: both in the immediate perception of the site and the objects and its mediation through didactic illustrations. The architecture gains a symbolic character through its programmatic engagement with the location; the mirrored entrance façade creates an indirect and forceful memento that makes history present and calls for a reflected engagement with the events of history.

in Collaboration with Eric Lapierre and J. L. Cohen
Competition: 1st prize, 2006
Date: 2006—2011
Client: Mémorial de la Shoah
Location: 110-112 avenue Jean-Jaurès, Drancy, France
Gross Floor Area (GFA): 1.701 m²
Use / Function: Exhibition space, reception hall, documentation and office, education, conference rooms
Structural Engineer: Setec Bâtiment
Mechanical Engineer: Alto-Ingénierie
Landscape Architect: Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten
Local Architect: d2a Management, Eric Lapierre Expérience
Façade Consultant: RFR Structures
Museography: Agence Fluo, Heller Enterprises

Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-07
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-34
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-44
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-31
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0409R
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0635
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0636
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0637
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0638

<Shoah Memorial, Drancy, 2006–2011, Wettbewerb 1. Preis

X

Das Shoah Memorial liegt im Pariser Vorort Drancy auf einem Eckgrundstück. Seine der Rue Jean Jaurès zugewandte Schmalseite bildet die Front und ist auf die Cité de la Muette ausgerichtet. Diese zwischen 1932 und 1934 realisierte U-förmige Wohnsiedlung war unter der deutschen Besatzung von 1941 bis 1944 als Internierungslager zur Deportation der jüdischen Bevölkerung umfunktioniert worden. 1976 wurde an der Strassenseite der Grünanlage des Baukomplexes ein Mahnmal von Shlomo Selinger aufgestellt; 1988 kam ein Güterwaggon der französischen Staatsbahn hinzu. Die Cité de la Muette gilt heute als bedeutendstes bauliches Zeugnis der Shoah in Frankreich.

Das als Museum und Gedenkstätte errichtete Memorial ist ein viergeschossiger Bau aus lasiertem Beton. Leicht zurückgesetzt zur Strassenflucht öffnet er sich mit den Fenstern der oberen Ebenen in ganzer Breite zur Cité de la Muette. Im Erdgeschoss bildet eine rahmenlose, gegenüber der Front etwas eingezogene und schräg verlaufende Spiegelfassade den Eingangsbereich. Sie ist so konstruiert, dass sie die Sicht auf die Wohnanlage und das Mahnmal einfängt und der Besucher das Gebäude im Anblick des ehemaligen Internierungslagers betritt. Im Innern passiert der Besucher eine Sicherheitsschleuse und gelangt über das geschlossene Treppenhaus in die übrigen Etagen. Im ersten und zweiten Obergeschoss sind die Räume für Dokumentation und Archiv sowie die pädagogischen Ateliers für den Schülerunterricht untergebracht. Die oberste Ebene ist ein permanenter Ausstellungsraum, in dem Akten, Briefe, Bilder und Filme die Bedingungen im Internierungslager schildern. Alle drei Geschosse sind als programmatische Einheit konzipiert, in der Vermittler und Besucher sich gemeinsam bewegen; es gibt keine Trennung zwischen öffentlichem Bereich und Verwaltungstrakt.

Die Gestaltung und damit die Funktion des Memorial erfüllen sich in der Vermittlung der Erinnerung an die Shoah. Das Gebäude mit seinen übereinander geschichteten Ebenen und seiner zum Ort der Geschichte geöffneten Front soll einen lebendigen Umgang mit der Erinnerung gewährleisten. Es ist als „Mémoire composée“ konzipiert, als funktionelle Einheit, mit der die Erinnerung wachgehalten und immer wieder erarbeitet wird: über die unmittelbare Anschauung von Ort und Objekten sowie mittelbar durch didaktische Veranschaulichung. Die Architektur gewinnt durch die programmatische Ausrichtung auf den Ort einen zeichenhaften Charakter. Mit der verspiegelten Eingangsfassade schafft sie ein indirektes und kraftvolles Memento, das die Gegenwart der Geschichte sichtbar macht und zur Reflexion des Geschehenen aufruft.

in Zusammenarbeit mit Eric Lapierre und J. L. Cohen
Wettbewerb: 1. Preis, 2006
Datum: 2006—2011
Auftraggeber: Mémorial de la Shoah
Ort: 110-112 avenue Jean-Jaurès, Drancy, Frankreich
Bruttogeschossfläche (BGF): 1.701 m²
Programm: Ausstellungsräume, Empfangshalle, Büro-, Schulungs- und Konferenzräume
Bauingenieur: Setec Bâtiment
Technische Gebäudeplanung: Alto-Ingénierie
Landschaftsarchitekt: Vogt Landschaftsarchitekten
Architekt vor Ort: d2a Management, Eric Lapierre Expérience
Fassadenplanner: RFR Structures
Museografie: Agence Fluo, Heller Enterprises

Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-07
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-34
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-44
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy 4277-31
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0409R
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0635
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0636
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0637
Diener 0878-SHO Shoah-Memorial Drancy P5919-0638