<Gauforum Weimar, Weimar, 2002

X

National Socialist Germany passed a law in 1937 aimed at regulating the redesign of German cities. The plan envisioned large administrative buildings, so-called Gauforums, to be erected as monumental symbols for the power held by the National Socialist Party. These building shared a basic floor plan: it included a Halle der Volksgemeinschaft [People’s Solidarity Hall] with an adjacent parade square and surrounding party and administrative buildings. By 1944, the Weimar Gauforum was the only one of the planned buildings to be largely completed.

During the German Democratic Republic (GDR), the building was converted into a multipurpose hall in 1971; after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, in 2001, plans were prepared to convert it into a shopping mall and a theme park with a “Welcome Center.” This “Welcome Center” would provide information on the building’s history for tourists. The city commissioned two studies in 2002 to discuss the possibilities of giving the façade of the “Weimar Atrium” a design that remained sensitive to the historic preservation of the Gauforum.

Whenever a building is being preserved, the design process must find a new use that can be inscribed as new meaning onto the existing structure; however, it is equally possible that the only possible answer to this question is to refuse to provide the building with a new use.

Diener & Diener suggested in its report that all the facilities added during the German Democratic Republic be removed and the building’s imposing bare steel structure revealed. This bare structure should serve as a monument for, or more specifically against National Socialism. The shopping center would be built in front of the Gauhalle on the parade ground, which had itself been repurposed as a parking lot, with the sequence of names reflecting its varied history: “Karl-August-Platz,” “Adolf-Hitler-Platz,” “Karl-Marx-Platz,” and finally, without any historical association: “Weimar-Platz.”

Restoring the Halle der Volksgemeinschaft to its 1944 condition would enable the building’s subsequently obscured meaning to once again become evident: the building, which had never served its purpose, would simply stand there, useless, or rather: without use beyond recalling the delusion of the Third Reich. The building would simply provide an open-air experience as a monument for its architectural and historical significance. History, rather than being dismissed would be evoked and recalled by this impressive monument to the delusion and failure of National Socialism, or, we must add, would have been recalled: the design was never carried out.

Extracts taken from: Martin Steinmann, Architecture engagée – Notizen zu Diener & Diener, in: Diener & Diener: Phaidon, 2011; Ulrike Steiner, Gauforum Weimar. Rückholung der Erinnerung, in: Von Innen und Aussen bewegt. Diener & Diener: Architekturmuseum der TU München, 2004.

Competition: 2002
Date: 2002—
Location: Weimar, Germany
Use / Function: Shopping mall

Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar 2 Weimarplatz
Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar P5919-0689
Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar P5919-0690R

<Gauforum Weimar, Weimar, 2002

X

1937 wurde im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland das «Gesetz über die Neugestaltung deutscher Städte» erlassen. Mit sogenannten Gauforen sollte ein monumentales Zeichen der Herrschaft der NSDAP gesetzt werden. Den Grossplanungen lag ein einheitliches Schema zugrunde: eine „Halle der Volksgemeinschaft“ und ein Aufmarschplatz mit Partei- und Verwaltungsbauten. Das Gauforum Weimar ist die einzige bis 1944 weitgehend fertiggestellte Anlage dieser Art.
1974, zur Zeit der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (DDR), wurde die ehemalige Gauhalle zu einer Mehrzweckhalle umgestaltet, 2001, nach dem Mauerfall 1989 und der Wiedervereinigung beider Deutschland, sollte sie zu einem Einkaufszentrum, Erlebnispark und „Welcome-Center“ mit historischer Dokumentation für Touristen umgebaut werden. Die Stadt liess 2002 zwei Gutachten einholen, welche die Möglichkeiten bei der Fassadengestaltung für das „Weimar Atrium“ aufzeigen und gewährleisten sollten, dass das Gauforum denkmalpflegerisch sinnvoll erhalten bleibt.

Wenn es um den Erhalt eines Gebäudes geht, bedeutet entwerfen auch, eine Nutzung zu finden, die sich als neuer Sinn in seine Struktur einzuschreiben vermag. Es kann aber ebenso sein, dass die Weigerung, ein Gebäude neu zu nutzen, die einzige mögliche Antwort auf die gestellte Frage ist.

Das Gutachten von Diener & Diener schlug vor, die Halle von den Einrichtungen aus der DDR-Zeit zu befreien und ihre gewaltige nackte Stahlbetonkonstruktion zu zeigen: als Mahnmal für oder besser gegen den Nationalsozialismus – und das Einkaufszentrum wie eine Markthalle auf der grossen, vom Appellplatz zum Parkplatz umfunktionierten Freifläche vor der Gauhalle zu errichten – ein Platz, dessen wechselnde Namen die Geschichte spiegeln: Karl-August-, Adolf-Hitler-, Karl-Marx- und schliesslich geschichtslos Weimar-Platz.

Die „Halle der Volksgemeinschaft“ auf den Zustand von 1944 zurückzubauen, macht den Bau in seiner architektonischen wie in seiner politischen Dimension als Denkmal unter freiem Himmel erlebbar. Erst die Entblössung legt die unklar gewordene Bedeutung des Bestands wieder frei: Die ihrer Bestimmung nie übergebene Halle steht nur da, ohne Nutzung, ohne anderen Nutzen als den, uns an den Wahn des „Dritten Reiches“ zu erinnern. Anstatt die Geschichte zu entsorgen, wird sie durch dieses eindrückliche Monument des nationalsozialistischen Herrschaftsanspruchs und seines Scheiterns zurückgeholt – wäre zurückgeholt worden, muss man hinzufügen, denn inzwischen ist das „Weimar Center“ in Betrieb.

Mit Auszügen aus: Martin Steinmann, Architecture engagée – Notizen zu Diener & Diener, in: Diener & Diener. London/New York: Phaidon, 2011; Ulrike Steiner, Gauforum Weimar. Rückholung der Erinnerung, in: Von Innen und Aussen bewegt. Diener & Diener, München: Architekturmuseum der TU München, 2004.

Wettbewerb: 2002
Datum: 2002—
Ort: Weimar, Deutschland
Programm: Einkaufszentrum

Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar 2 Weimarplatz
Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar P5919-0689
Diener 0809-WPM Gauforum-Weimar Weimar P5919-0690R